Gippsland - monuments on the route
South Expedition by P. E. Strzelecki

The erection of the cairns in Gippsland was a project initiated in March 1926 by the Historical Memorials Committee Melbourne-based to commemorate the South journeys in 1840 of pioneer and explorer, Paul Edmund Strzelecki's.
This Committee comprised individuals from the Education Department, Railways, Royal Historical Society of Victoria, Lands Department, Tourist Board, and the Town Planning Committee. Sir James Barrett was chairman, with C.R. Long as treasurer, and Chas Daley as secretary

In order of occurrence reconstructed route of the expedition, erected seven cairns or marble tablets memorials are located in: Heyfield, Loy Yang (near Traralgon), Koornalla, Mirboo North, Leongatha, Korumburra and Corinella.
Check the location of the commemorative monuments on the general _GippsLand map_. The name of P. E. Strzelecki is incorrectly entered in the title of on this photo.

In the article „Gippsland Explorers. Governor’s Tour”, The Argus, 11 April 1927 p. 8 writes
It is not clear when the dedication to Charlie Tarra and the rest of Strzelecki’s party was added to the Corinella cairn.
Originally plaque on the monument was reportedly installed only with the names of James Riley and Strzelecki.

One commemorative tablet plaque unveiled in 1988 is also in East Maitland (NSW).
Thanks to Tad and the Admin of the website for the uploaded on monument to Strzelecki plaque in Corinella.
If you can complete brief descriptions and photographs of individual monuments, please e-mail us -